DWI Attorney in El Paso

Focused Representation for Drunk Driving Cases

Driving while intoxicated is one of the most commonly charged offenses in Texas. Most people who are charged with a DWI have never been arrested before and have little to no experience with the criminal justice system. Unfortunately, if convicted of drunk driving, you could face a substantial amount of time in jail and costly fines.

If you have been arrested for a DWI, an experienced attorney will fight to protect your rights. Our team of El Paso DWI defense lawyers knows Texas law and will work to ensure that you receive the most favorable outcome possible. If you have been charged with drunk or drugged driving, contact the Aranda Law Firm at (915) 996-9914 to schedule a confidential consultation today.

What Are the DWI Laws in Texas?

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious criminal offense that can result in significant jail time. Under Texas Penal Code section 49.04, it is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle in a public place while intoxicated. Intoxication is defined as not having the normal use of your physical or mental faculties or having a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more. 

It is important to note that you can be arrested for DWI even if you have a blood alcohol level under the legal limit of 0.08%. The prosecutor would have to prove impairment (that you did not have the normal use of your mental or physical faculties) as a result of the use or consumption of drugs or alcohol.

Is a DWI the Same as a DUI?

While the terms DWI and DUI are often used interchangeably, they have distinct meanings under Texas law. DWI refers to driving while intoxicated, while DUI refers to driving under the influence. In Texas, only individuals under the age of 21 can be charged with a DUI. 

It is unlawful for a person under the age of 21 to drive with any amount of alcohol in their system. Known as Texas’ zero tolerance law, a conviction for a DUI can result in a license suspension, community service, and the mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device.

What Are the Penalties for a DWI Conviction in Texas?

The penalties for driving while intoxicated in El Paso vary depending on the circumstances of the case, including the blood alcohol level and whether it was your first offense. 

Penalties for a first offense DWI:

  • A fine of up to $2,000
  • Up to 180 days in jail (3 days mandatory)
  • An alcohol education program
  • License suspension of up to one year


If it is your second or subsequent offense, you could face much harsher consequences, including higher fines and a state prison sentence. Other factors may also increase your sentence, such as driving while intoxicated with a child passenger or driving with a blood alcohol content of .15% or higher. Whether this is your first offense or a previous DWI on your record,  you should always consult with an El Paso DWI attorney.

Do I Need a DWI Attorney?

A conviction for a DWI can affect your entire life. You may have your driving privileges suspended, meaning you may not be able to drive to work or school. You could have to report the offense to your employer, or you could face jail time. 

In order to get the best possible outcome in your case, you need to speak with an attorney. Our DWI attorneys will fight to protect your rights and help to minimize your exposure. We will work hard to negotiate a fair disposition on your behalf and work hard to get the charges reduced or dismissed. Without the help of one of our DWI lawyers, you could end up facing the maximum sentence allowed.

DWI Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)?

Should I enter a plea for a DWI?

It is always advisable to consult with an attorney prior to entering a plea for a DWI. One of our skilled El Paso criminal defense attorneys can review the case to determine if there might be additional defenses that apply to your case. An arrest for driving while intoxicated does not have to mean a conviction. You have the right to an attorney, and you should exercise that right.

Will my license be suspended?

You could face a suspension of up to one year on a first offense DWI. You may be eligible for restricted driving privileges, but you would need to consult with an El Paso DWI attorney as soon as possible.

Is a DWI a felony?

Most DWI charges are misdemeanors, but there are instances where it may be charged as a felony. For instance, if you are arrested for a third or subsequent DWI, have a child passenger, or injure someone in an accident, you may be charged with a felony.

Arrested for a DWI in El Paso? Contact the Aranda Law Firm Today.

Were you arrested for a DWI? Contact the Aranda Law Firm at (915) 996-9914 to schedule a consultation. Discuss your case directly with one of our DWI attorneys today. Our firm proudly serves clients throughout El Paso and the surrounding communities.

Preventing drunk man from taking car keys